I just got an email from a guy at More Digital, which claims to be a "UK based Digital Marketing Consultancy."
Here's the email (I substituted my domain name for privacy purposes):
Hi,
I work for More Digital; a UK based Digital Marketing Consultancy.
We represent clients interested in social media marketing on smaller sites with little or no existing advertising and we're currently looking for advertising partners.
Would you be interested in placing a small text-based ad on example.com?
We pay a fixed upfront annual fee which we will agree on with you. Once the ad is in place, payment is made within approximately 48 hours.
I hope to hear from you soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew Webster
I checked out MoreDigital.com and it appears to be a legitimate website. I'm trying to decide if I should reply and at least see what the offer is (ie. rates for the text-links) or simply ignore this. It is an unsolicited email (mailed to my domain's whois email address), so I'm of course a little suspicious and wary. Any thoughts?